October 28 Article 8 Community Advisory Comm

October 28 Article 8 Community Advisory Committee Meeting
Posted on 11/04/2020

Community Advisory Committee-Article 8  

Meeting #8 

October 28, 2020 5pm  

Via Zoom  

Michael Haxton-Chair 

Steve McGrath-Vice Chair 

Kirk Bishop 

Kevin Cooney 

Anna Miner 

Melissa Trow 

Jim Lyons 

Chris Whitehouse 

Tanner Royce 


Russ Holden-SAU 85 Superintendant

Jesse Tyler-Schoolboard Chair


The meeting was called to order at 5:02 pm.  

The recording of the meeting can be found here:  


This meeting was a special session where prepared questions by the committee members were presented for response by Jesse Tyler and Russ Holden.

Mr. Holden provided some history of the research and projects, including updates regarding enrollments-in light of COVID-19, which has prompted members of the committee to consider not taking action due to much remote learning and the unknowns.

Mr. Holden shared that 254 families claimed residency in Sunapee during COVID, bringing more students.  He also reiterated that the Strategic Plan calls for safety and the elementary school does not have ventilation-a necessity to respond to COVID.  

Mr. Tyler shared that the School Board has expressed desire for transparency as well as his personal concerns as a parent.

Extensive engaging discussions ensued surrounding questions which were prepared ahead of the meeting, particularly surrounding the areas of subcommittee research work. The dialog brought to light many ideas that Mr. Tyler acknowledged appreciating learning about.

This session helped further inform the committee in its final decision making.

The next meeting was not yet set as many members departed prior to the end of the meeting.  It was agree by remaining members to schedule by email.  Meeting adjourned at 7:26 pm.  

Respectfully submitted,  

Anna Miner